Opportunity Hides in the Belly of the Drink Cart

a78ae8990c3aba23e0ea7c8f600d9191

{source}

I am always loyal to my traditional choice of apple juice while flying. At least, I was, until the other day on Delta I spied a can of Minute Maid Cranberry Apple Cocktail peeking its shiny head out on the third shelf of the drink cart. The entire time the cart rolled toward me, I just wanted the attendant’s blue pencil skirt to move out of the way so I could view the whole drink selection! It didn’t. Flight attendants wouldn’t take kindly to being asked to recite the list of drinks, either.

But to give up there would be to ignore an important fact: there are always open cans.

On the shelves, flight attendants store half empty containers of beverages so they don’t waste. No, not half empty—half full. The volume of the can does not match the volume of the cup. What I’m saying is that it’s time for you to branch out with your drink choices. Ask the flight attendant to MIX THEM.

If you’re a very savvy flier, you can search airline websites ahead of time for a list of drinks that will be served. You’ll find blogs from hundreds of other travelers playing the game, too. Why go to the trouble? There are a few reasons. You’ve been on so many planes, you deserve to get the most out of your flying experience. It’s also important to celebrate the little things and the long travels. Who knows, your most cherished American beverage could be available, or an odd, obscure, international item that you just need to try. Don’t miss out.

And to be honest, we don’t get to order alcohol. Haven’t you ever wanted to be like the smooth chick in the movie who impresses the bartender by easily rattling off her complicated order? Have the satisfaction of delivering the awesomeness and knowing you’re one step ahead of the airplane game.

Of course, there’s no telling how the flight attendant will respond, especially if you ask for something that’s too complicated. But remember, the cans are always open. And when the cans are open, customer service and satisfaction will be victorious.

One thought on “Opportunity Hides in the Belly of the Drink Cart

  1. I’m glad you mentioned mixing the drinks… I thought I was the only one who did that! Mixing orange juice with lemonade (you would say Sprite or a similar beverage) is very common in Australia, and chances are I’ll ask for it at least once on a long-haul flight. So far the only airline that doesn’t give me a strange look is Air New Zealand.

    Next long-haul flight, I want to see if they have Irn-Bru at the end of it (because I don’t like coffee). I shall have to follow your advice and look up the drinks options prior to flying… Irn-Bru is such an obscure drink I’m not sure they’d have it.

Leave a Reply

