Wherever I Settle

Night hike 6 s

{credit}

Two years ago, I learned Psalm 139 by heart at JV Kid’s Camp. I have heard all those verses, and yet, the Lord can use them over and over to remind us of His heart for us. I was reading that particular psalm again a couple of weeks ago, and these two verses stood out…

“If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.”

-Psalm 139:9-10

All of a sudden those verses came alive for me. I’m not rising on the wings of dawn, but I am getting up early on the 15th of August to get on an airplane. That airplane will take me to the farthest side of the ocean, to a completely different world. I will settle far away from where I am now for college.

Even THERE His hand will guide me.

How comforting those words became to me in a moment! God knows what I’m heading into, and He promises to be there. He knows I’m moving, settling somewhere new, but He already has plans set out for me there. His spirit will not leave me.

His right hand will hold me fast.

He won’t let me slip. I think of what it would mean if I were walking somewhere unknown and maybe a bit scary, and my dad held my hand in his. Safety. Security. Knowing that the Lord will hold me fast means that no matter what happens, or what changes I face, He won’t let me out of His sight, and I can fall back on Him always.

////////////////////////

republished with permission from Claire’s blog: Claire’s Corner

Leave a Reply

