DIY Week – Country Art

DIY week

For the last day of DIY Week, I found this simple, yet lovely, craft to display your favorite places. Perfect for TCKs!

country art

I first did this craft for a loved quote last year, but decided to put a travel spin on it for DIY Week.

DSC_0286

I first cut out half of a page from an old French magazine I have. I found a page with mainly words so I wouldn’t have to sacrifice any fun vintage outfits or ads while also making sure my drawing would be visible on the page.

DSC_0281

Next, I printed out a dark outline of Italy. After making sure it fit the page, I taped it to the back so when I put it up to light, the outline would shine through making it an easy stencil.

DSC_0288

I then traced the shape with dark ink. I didn’t make it perfect, which, in my opinion, makes it look more fun. After I did Italy, I chose a fun quote from a classic Italian move, “Life Is Beautiful.” “Buongiorno Principessa!” means “Good Morning Princess!”

DSC_0291

When I did this last year, I used watercolors over the ink, but for the life of me I couldn’t find a set of watercolors. I looked and looked and looked. But they were no where to be found. So for the sake of getting this blogged I just used a marker, but it would look much prettier in watercolors!

DSC_0297

And there you have it, a quick craft! I hope you’ve enjoyed DIY Week. Let us know if you made any of them and send us a pic at notofthisworld [dot] r2 [at] gmail [dot] com

DSC_0304

///////

Have you entered our summer travel accessories giveaway yet? To win Paperdoll by Natalie Lloyd, EOS lipbalm, Vera Bradley, and more, click here.

Leave a Reply

