Relate [a journey through Romans 12] part 4

relate blog star

 

Romans 12:6-8 Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads, with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness.

Read My family moved to Italy to be missionaries when I was 11. We lived there for five years and while it was often lonely and difficult, I’m so thankful I had the opportunity to spend time in such an amazing country.

One of the most important things I took away from my time in Italy is that God has given you certain gifts for a purpose and He wants you to start using them now, not just when you’re grown up. I’ve had a passion for writing ever since I was really little, but I never did much with it. I was always writing short stories, but usually just because I enjoyed it. I often thought about wanting to write a novel or edit a magazine. But those dreams were for when I was a grownup, because who does that as a teen?

One night, though, my dad and I were driving in the car. I was in 9th grade, homeschooling again (I used to go to an Italian public school), and had lots of free time. In that free time, I’d been making this newsletter for two of my friends back home. It was silly and based off this inside joke, but I really enjoyed putting it together. I was talking to my dad about it and he questioned why I was putting all my time and talent into something almost no one was reading. He challenged me to make something similar, but for missionary girls like myself. I immediately scoffed at the idea. It would be impossible. I knew a few other missionary girls from conferences I had been to, but not enough to make a monthly magazine. And besides, there are practically no resources for missionary kids. That’s when I heard God. There are no resources, but I could change that. So that week I started working on my first issue and four years later, I’m still publishing it. Over 100 people now subscribe to it and countless others read it as well. It’s been amazing watching God use the talents He’s given me for His glory. It’s really hard work and takes up a lot of my time, but getting e-mails from girls telling me what a blessing it is makes it all worth it.

I want to encourage you all to do the same. God has given you gifts. Maybe you’re a musician, maybe you’re an artist, maybe you’re just really good at encouraging others. Or maybe you’re good at sports. God didn’t just randomly give you those gifts. They have a purpose and you don’t have to wait until you’re an adult to use them. Take a step of faith and see what God’ll do.

Ponder What gifts and talents has God blessed you with? How can you begin using them now?

One thought on “Relate [a journey through Romans 12] part 4

Leave a Reply

