Relate [a journey through Romans 12] part 3

relate blog star

 

Romans 12:3-5 For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgement, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. For as in one body we have many members, and the members do not have all the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another.

Read Ugly thoughts often creep into my heart. I imagine your heart might be visited by the same ones. Often, I find myself thinking I’m better than other people. It’s difficult for me to fully admit that, but it’s true. If I get a better grade or if I don’t cheat on a test or if I dress more modestly than my peers, I give myself a proverbial pat on the back because I feel superior. I feel like I’m better because I feel like a better Christians. Do ever get stuck playing the comparison game? Do you ever secretly imagine that God extends more favor and grace toward you because your actions seem more Godly?

I struggle with this a lot. But this year, I’ve been trying to hard to hold my thoughts captive, to realize when I’m thinking poorly of someone and switch to positive thoughts or pray for them. I also had a realization. I was sitting in one of my classes and some girls nearby were driving me crazy. They were cussing, every other word. They were disrespecting the teacher and making fun of another girl in the class. They were complaining about their very privileged lives. To be honest, their voices and attitudes were like nails being dragged across a chalkboard. And in that moment, I honestly felt superior to them.

But then another thought popped in my mind. I could be them. If it weren’t for God’s grace, I could be them. Because, after all, what did I do to get the family I have? What did I do to have learned the manners I learned? What did I do to be brought up around Godly people? Nothing. I did absolutely nothing. It is simply by God’s grace that I am His. When God looks at me, He doesn’t see someone who’s better than everyone else. He just sees another person whom He loves deeply, but is so desperately in need of a Savior.

The second half of these few verses explains that as Christians, we are one unit. We are like different parts of a body. It also says that God gave everyone different amounts of faith. As one body, we can not condemn our fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. We have to work together. A quote I saw recently said, “Don’t judge me because I sin differently than you do.” That hit me hard. Let us remember that as we worship side by side, convicting, encouraging, and loving each other.

Ponder What does your thought life look like? What are some areas in your life where you need to surrender your arrogance?

Leave a Reply

