Relate [a personal journey through Romans 12] part 2

relate blog star

 

Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Read C.S. Lewis once wrote, “If I find within myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.” Do you ever feel that? That deep longing that there must be more, that this isn’t where you belong. Sometimes in my moments of deepest sadness or fear or anxiety, I find myself whispering, “I just want to go home,” then pausing, slightly bewildered since I am home, or at least my earthly home.

One of my friends put it this way, “My soul feels the need to be in Heaven at the feet of my Maker, but my mind understands the necessity of remaining here. I want to pursue holiness with every fiber of my being, but my being is human: fallen and sinful.”

How do we grapple with that? How do you keep your mind on Heaven yet still be present in this world? Focus on Christ. Read His word. Spend time with people who love Him as much as you do. But also live a “life worthy of the Gospel” (Philippians 1:27). God sent His only son to die for you. Our lives should reflect that sacrifice. We should be more than willing to take a stand for our faith. After all, we have nothing to fear.

Too often Christians are passive in their faith, including myself. It’s so much easier to just believe in God and act like everyone else. But the Bible says that even the demons believe in God (James 2:19). The next verse challenges those with passive faith, calling them foolish to think that faith can stand by itself free of works. Faith is completed by works (James 2:22). If we are truly walking with God, we will grow and produce fruit. By spending time with us, others should be able to taste that fruit and see Jesus. They should be able to smell His sweet fragrance and be drawn to His dazzling light.

Ponder What in your life does not reflect that you’re a daughter or son of God?

Leave a Reply

