DIY Sweater

sweater #1

I saw this ribbon sweater idea on Pinterest a few months ago and loved it! I finally got around to actually making it last weekend and I’m so happy with the result. Read on to make your own restyled sweater…

supplies

What you’ll need: a sweater, ribbon, a needle, thread, and scissors. I dragged out my sewing machine, but ended up just sewing by hand.

Difficulty Level: Easy. Even if you don’t sew, you could make this.

Time: 10 to 20 minutes.

I bought my sweater at Goodwill since I didn’t want to accidentally ruin one of my own sweaters. Unless you have a sweater you don’t mind cutting up, it’s a good idea to find a friend with old sweaters or find one at a thrift shop.

sweater #2

1. Cut a slit from the collar down the sleeve. In the instructions I used, it said cut 7 inches, but I think that’s a little long. If I were to do it again, I would make a 5 or 6 inch cut.

2. Fold over your cut edges and pin them. Pinning them is optional, but it will make sewing them back up a lot easier.

step 4

3. Sew (Never sewed? Click here for some tips) the edges over so that it creates a clean looking slit. Cut two pieces of ribbon to your liking. The instructions said each should be 15 inches, but I did 24 inches. When cutting, just remember, the shorter each piece, the smaller your bow.

4. Sew on the ribbon to each side. As you can tell in the picture, this does not have to look good or be perfect; it’s hidden from sight. To make your stitches invisible, sew the ribbon onto the folded over piece of fabric, not through both pieces.

step 5

5. And voila! Tie your bow and you’re ready to go!

One thought on “DIY Sweater

Leave a Reply

