2013.

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 11.01.35 PM

 

 

{source}

I’m not a big fan of new year resolutions. At least for me. Because I can’t really remember any of the resolutions I have made and I don’t think I’ve ever followed through with any of them. And I tried picking a word for my year and, while that’s such a cool concept, it didn’t work out well either because I forgot my word was “joy” two months in (even after I wrote this long blog post on it).

Tonight, though, I made out a list of things I want to see happen in 2013. I didn’t plan it. I didn’t know what I was going to write, but I just started to write.

Spend less time on the computer and more time doing things that fill me.

Exercise more, drink more water, and get more sleep.

Sharpen my weapons as a prayer warrior.

Listen more, talk less.

Start taking pictures again.

Invest in Not of this World.

Continue to strive for excellency even when those around me are not.

Invest in the relationships I have now, not the ones I hope for in the future.

These are all fairly abstract, not specific details of things I want to accomplish. They’re not on a post-it note on my bathroom mirror to guilt me into change. They’re in a book that is not on the top of a stack of books. If 2014 starts and I haven’t fulfilled all these things, it will be ok. They are simply things that have been bouncing around my head and my heart and I wanted to write them down so years down the road, I’ll remember what I was thinking about.

Do you have any resolutions or a word of the year? If you’re thinking of picking a word for your year, I highly recommend reading this blog post by Natalie Lloyd about her “year of the lion.”

Leave a Reply

