But in the Power of God

teens

 

{via google images}

I was reading 1 Corinthians recently and loved this verse: “and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.” (2:4-5)

It made me think of Claire’s Christmas Challenge post from Sunday. If you missed it, her family has a tradition that each family member has to share God’s love with a friend during the holiday season. I think a lot of people, myself included, refrain from sharing our faith because we’re afraid how it’ll come out. Our culture is so focused on being politically correct, it’s easy to think “What if I offend her/him?” or simply “What if I say the wrong thing?” This verse destroys those excuses. It says that what we say should be imperfect; the belief of others is not dependent on our words, but the power of God.

I’ve encountered this first hand many times, but one experience that sticks out in my head is from my 8th grade year. I was on an overnight field-trip with my Italian class and, being mature middle-schoolers, almost all the girls were in tears and slamming doors before the first day had even ended. That night, I sat down with my roommates and asked if I could share a Bible verse that related to the situation. I don’t remember what Bible verse it was and I think I read half in Italian and half in English. After that, I started rambling on about my faith and why I believed what I believed. I think my best moment was when I mentioned how I was motivated to read my Bible because it has a pink cover (still cringe at that!).

I don’t remember all I said, but my point is that it came out all wrong. I said the wrong things. I probably didn’t make a lot of sense. And I didn’t even stick to one language! But God still worked through my flawed words and that night is one of the happiest memories from my time in Italy. The joy that came from sharing God’s love with my dear friends completely trumped my feelings of inadequacy. I didn’t even know for a long time if I had made an impact on any of them (click here to read how one girl did respond years later), but I knew I had responded to God’s whisper to talk to them.

I love this verse from 1 Corinthians so much because it lets us be imperfect. Our job is just to plant the seed and it’s God’s job to water it and let it grow.

One thought on “But in the Power of God

  1. So encouraging yet again!! Thank you! God does show up most in our weaknesses (“therefore, I will boast all the more about my weaknesses, for when I am weak, then He is strong!”)

Leave a Reply

