An Act of Kindness

{Source}

Last week, during Bible study, one girl mentioned that her week had just been boring. Her prayer request was a more exciting week. As soon as she said that, an idea popped into my head. I decided to make her cards and have her teachers give them to her in each of her classes.

I had so much fun making notes for her and trying to deliver them secretly to her teachers. I was only able to deliver one successfully as a surprise, but that didn’t matter. She loved it and that made me so happy.

I didn’t do it to make myself feel or look good for doing something nice. I didn’t do it because I love creative things (even though I do). I simply wanted to make her day less boring. I really wanted to do something nice for her. But in the process of trying to make her day, I made my own.

Proverbs 21:21 says, “Whoever pursues righteousness and kindness, will find life, righteousness, and honor.” I think that verse is true (Not that it matters what I think. I mean, the whole Bible is true, right? 🙂 ) As silly as this might sound, I really felt alive doing something kind for someone else. In fact, I always find that to be true – that whenever I seek to encourage someone else, I end up so happy and full of life.

I encourage you to go out of your way this week to look for ways to show kindness to others. You’ll end up encouraging yourself along the way.

One thought on “An Act of Kindness

  1. Have you ever read the book “Stargirl” by Jerry Spinelli? It is definately my favorite book. The heroine is an incredible example for what it means to be kind with absolutely no care of how it impacts her. I read this book and felt extremely impacted to change my lifestyle. So I did and am continuing to do. I’m realizing that I don’t have the power of changing the whole big picture, but I can be a real blessing by focusing on the individual things it involves. Read it.

Leave a Reply

