He Gives Power to the Faint

Last night, I was at a friend’s house and, as a family, they do devotionals every night during dinner. That night’s devotional was on idols. One of the questions at the end was, “What do you think you deserve, that then turns into a demand, and thus becomes an idol?” We all started thinking aloud and being the perfect Godly children we are, came to the conclusion that we had never really demanded anything before. One person mentioned sleep and we all smiled. I think we all eventually came up with something, but it stuck with me because I started to wonder, is rest an idol in my life?

I constantly think about it; I always plan out peaceful weekends and then am absolutely crushed when they don’t happen. I tell myself I deserve it. I’ve been telling myself I deserved this past weekend to rest before school starts. I told myself I didn’t deserve all of the summer reading I had to do for my new school. I still am telling myself that.

I don’t think resting is wrong, in fact it’s a good thing. God ordained an entire day for rest. But if I’m putting rest above God, which I am, then it is wrong.

If I put rest before God, it’s not going to happen because true rest comes from God.

“The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to Him who has no might increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

-Isaiah 40:28b-31

I’m claiming that promise today. I may not get to read a book, sleep as long as I want, or do whatever else is restful to me, but I’m trusting the Lord to give me energy to start school when I have none. I’m trusting Him to fill me with joy because I will never be able to find it anywhere else. I’m trusting Him that I don’t need my definition of rest to do His work.

Is rest an idol in your life? Do you work too hard to get that rest? If so (and even if you said “no” to the above questions), rest in Jesus today and let Him give you the strength you need to accomplish what He’s called you to do.

Leave a Reply

