Living a Real Fairytale

Just a few days ago, William and Kate finally had their royal wedding. As I was at a staff conference with my family, I crowded in a small apartment room with lots of other women, straining my eyes to see Kate walk down the aisle on the fuzzy TV screen. Watching it really did feel like reading a fairy-tale. The beautiful commoner marries the handsome semi-attractive prince and lives happily ever-after. It gave me goose-bumps watching history happen. It’s hard to believe that Kate was just a normal person a few years ago. Now, she’s a princess* with the whole world watching her. I can’t imagine what that would be like.

I have to admit though, watching the wedding made me want to find out. Her life seems so glamorous and beautiful. Watching her ride in a carriage through London made my heart ache a teeny bit knowing that I’ll never be the girl in the carriage.

I think we can all relate to feeling this way. I recently read a Christian article relating to the Royal Wedding. It had lots of good points but one thing that stuck out to me was this sentence: God has put in the heart of every little girl to be a princess. I think that’s true. Even the most tomboy of tomboys has moments when she wants to feel like a princess. However, our broken world rarely produces fairytale endings and leaves “princess-wanna-be”s desperate, torn, and devastated.

It’s at these moments, when our hearts settles into the world’s standard of beauty and happy endings, that we have to remind ourselves that we actually are princesses: we are princesses of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. We are living the real fairy-tale and we will most definitely have a happy ending. And that way tops being Prince William’s wife.

“You are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light” -1 Peter 2:9

*Ok, she’s technically not a princess. She’s a duchess. But for the point of this blog, she’s a princess 🙂

Leave a Reply

