King of the Jungle

I posted this on my personal blog and thought I’d share it here as well…

Recently, I’ve found myself avoiding the news on TV and online. It feels like the world has been shaken up real good and thrown back at us like a pair of dice. It’s easy to let fear creep into my heart. It’s easy to forget that God has everything in control. Everyday I just want to yell, “Lord, what is going on??” I doubt I’ll ever fully understand how God is using all the current chaos for His good, but I have to have faith that somehow He is.

On the way to tennis, the song King of the Jungle by Steven Curtis Chapman started playing. I immediately smiled as I remembered performing a dance to it in third grade. As I listened and tugged on my memory to remember the dance moves, I let the words sink in.

Well the day has just begun and I’m already running late
With too many irons in the fire and too much on my plate
I’d be pulling out my hair if I could just get one hand free
And I’d stop this world if I could find the key

What I see is telling me I’m going crazy, but
What is real says God’s still on His throne
What I need is to remember one thing
That the Lord of the gentle breeze is Lord of the rough and tumble
And He is King of the Jungle Yes He is

People say this world’s a jungle and sometimes I must admit
I’d be scared to death if I did not know who was king of it
But the truth is God created this whole world with His own hand
So everything is under His command

It’s old, it’s cheesy. But it’s the truth. I’m glad God used an old Steven Curtis Chapman song today to remind me that He is in charge even when the world is topsy-turvy.

 

Leave a Reply

