Envelope Challenge

This past summer I went on a missions trip to Ethiopia with MK2MK, a program by Campus Crusade for Christ designed to encourage and equip missionary kids. At the end of the trip everyone was given a sealed envelope and fifteen minutes to pray. Inside the envelope was a challenge and if you felt led to open the envelope, you had to complete the challenge. I chose to open the envelope and I got the challenge of hosting a 24 hour prayer marathon. Here is the story of my challenge:

This summer I went on a missions trip to Ethiopia. At the end of the trip everyone was given the choice to take a mystery challenge back home. If we chose to take the challenge, we were committing to not only doing the challenge, but doing it before Christmas. After praying about it, I decided to take the challenge that lay under my seat sealed in an envelope. I slowly opened it and inside were the words, “24 Hour Prayer Marathon”. At first, I was a tad disappointed. Compared to others, my challenge seemed a little boring and “too” easy. But the more I thought about it, the more excited I got. I loved the thought of people praying for 24 hours straight!

I went back home, excited and motivated but time flew by and before I knew it, it was December and I hadn’t done my challenge yet. Since I live in Italy and there are not too many people here, I decided to host the event on Facebook so that anyone, anywhere could pray. I decided the topic was going to be Italy so I found Bible verses, songs, and topics relating to Italy’s needs and created a Facebook event. I was nervous because it was a week and a half before Christmas and I knew everyone would be so busy. I just kept reminding myself that I’d done my part and I couldn’t do anything else; it was in God’s hands.

God definitely blessed my efforts and I had around forty people commit to pray! It was so encouraging to know all the prayers that were said for the country I’ve grown to love. It was a great experience in learning to trust God! I loved that MK2MK offered this opportunity to help me stretch my faith. I’m so glad I took the challenge.

Like I mentioned above, I’m so glad I decided to take the challenge! I encourage you to take your own envelope challenge. Click on this link to choose a challenge. If you decide to “open the envelope” e-mail me and let me know!

 

2 thoughts on “Envelope Challenge

  1. Hi Courtney! I just found this site through a series of clicks from your comment on Natalie Lloyd’s blog. I happen to be an MK from Ethiopia, so I’m definitely excited to see that you went there!! Also, do you by any chance know Liz Sparkman? …because she’s my roommate here at college.

    Don’t you love what a small world it is? :]

    • Caroline, wow, that’s so cool that you’re an MK from Ethiopia! I really enjoyed my summer there; it’s such a unique country. I do know Liz! She was my small group leader. That’s so fun that y’all are roommates. Such a small world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

