In Christ Alone

I posted this on my personal blog and thought I’d post it here as well.

Outside it’s dark and windy. All I can here is gushes of wind whipping through the frigid air, sending dead leaves swirling. Looking around at my messy room and thinking about all the studying I still have to do tonight, my heart dropped. I couldn’t concentrate and just lay there, listening to the wind lost in daydreams. I felt so lonely and lost. Realizing how late it was, I made myself sit up and look at history. To get me motivated I turned on In Christ Alone by Owl City. I’m not even sure why I chose that song as I rarely listen to it, but I’m so glad I did.

I slowly felt life being poured back into me as I listened to the lyrics. I let myself get sucked into the storms of life too easily. I forget that I need to stand firm in Christ alone. Nothing else will sustain me in this life.

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm
What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

 

Leave a Reply

