Worthy of the Gospel

{photo credit: Sharon Whelchel}

In Philippians 1:27 Paul begins the verse by saying, “Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ…” Be worthy of the Gospel of Christ. You’ve probably heard the Gospel at least fifty times or maybe even more. Personally, it’s hard for me to really appreciate and respect it because well, I’ve heard it so many times. As much as I hate to admit it, sometimes it even gets a little boring to read it. Though I imagine I’m not the only one who feels that way.

This summer I went on a missions trip to Africa and one night our team split up to into three smaller teams to show the Jesus film in the countryside. It was a great experience, but it didn’t really hit me how important it was that these Africans had just heard the Gospel for the first time. Then I realized that most of them probably didn’t know the ending. I have parts of the Jesus film memorized and of course I know how the movie ends, but most people don’t know what happens. When they see Jesus dying for them on the cross they don’t know He’s going to rise again. All they know is that Someone loves them enough that they would die for them, ending their own life for the start of theirs. It’s new and exciting, but more importantly it’s a cure to their hopeless world.

Every once in a while I think we all need to sit back and really think about the Gospel. It isn’t just an old story, it’s a beautiful love story. But often we forget that, often we don’t live lives worthy of the Gospel, worthy of Someone dying for us.

Paul ends the verse by saying, “…so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the Gospel.” Your life was changed because of Jesus dying on the cross. Live a life that’s worthy of His sacrifice for you and stand firm with your fellow Christians to make the Gospel known. Live a life worthy of the Gospel.

I actually wrote this post a while ago and forgot to publish it so I want to add a few notes. Since I wrote this post I’ve read the book of John, so part of the Gospel. I wasn’t too excited about reading it but I figured, why not? Once I got into it, I couldn’t put it down! There were so many verses and concepts I had never noticed before. So I encourage you to give the Gospel a second chance. See how it applies to your life. Let God’s love story to us overwhelm you. You won’t be disappointed!

5 thoughts on “Worthy of the Gospel

  1. Courtney, I would love to post this article on the Global Staff Women blog, God Has More. Each week I post something from a different staff woman, but would love to do something from a staff kid.

    I would also love for some of your readers to answer this question: What has been good/positive/encouraging and what has been bad/hard/challenging about your parents and you moving to some other part of the world to serve God?

    Judy Douglass

Leave a Reply

