For the Lord

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.” -Colossians 3:23-24

It’s so easy to get distracted and it’s even easier to work for others and not the Lord. This past week at my tennis lesson I had to play with two people I’d never played with before. The usual feelings of worry, doubt, and unease crept into my mind. What if I mess up? What will they think of me? Right then I remembered something: Coram Deo. It’s a Latin phrase that means “For God be the Glory”. It didn’t matter anymore if I messed up or not. I wasn’t playing for them, I was playing for God. And He’ll still love me even if I mess up (or trip or hit myself with my own tennis racket or fall over backwards) (yes, I’ve actually done all those things…). And you know what? It was so much easier to play and have fun when I knew I was only playing for God.

This week keep this verse in the front of your mind and remember to 1) work heartily. Don’t be lazy; do your very best. and 2) work only for God, not others. Only what He thinks of you matters. Everything you do this week, do it for the Lord.

Leave a Reply

