Leap of Faith

I looked down and felt my heart jump. I was on a bridge in a deep, narrow canal with bright blue water flowing a hundred feet below me and I was about to jump off it. My heart raced and my legs shook a little as I thought about what I was going to do. Though when the time came, I took a deep breath and jumped/stepped off the bridge and free-fell toward the cold waters below.

Before I go on there’s something you should know: in the paragraph above I’m describing my bungee jump experience, not my attempt at suicide. With that out of the way, I want to share a Bible verse with you. Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” Even though you might not see how quite yet, my bungee jump is a great example of what this verse is talking about: faith.

When I jumped off the bridge I was scared, really scared. Even though I had a harness on and was attached to a very durable rope and my safety had been checked and double checked, I was still scared. But I jumped anyways. I trusted that the guy who put on my harness did it right and I trusted that the rope really was durable. The first few seconds were scary because I had nothing to hold onto; I still was trusting that eventually that rope was going to catch me, and it did. Once I the rope caught me I loved it. It was so much fun and I wished that I could do it all over again! We have the same experience when we have faith in God. Even though we know that He’s has the best in store for us, it can still be scary to really trust Him. Once we do and take the leap of faith it can still be scary at first, but we can be sure that God will always catch us and once He does is when we start to enjoy the view and see that He really did have our best interest at heart.

There are lots of examples of faith in the Bible, but I think one huge leap of faith is often over-looked. It’s found in John 5. Jesus sees a man who has been unable to walk for thirty-eight years. In verse six Jesus asks him if he’d like to be healed and the man immediately goes into an explanation about how he can’t be healed. Verse 8 says, “Jesus said to Him, “Get up, take up your bed, and walk.” And at once the man was healed, and he took up his bed and walked.” Think about how’d you feel if you hadn’t been able to walk for the past thirty-eight years and a man tells you to get up and walk. You’d probably tell him that he’s crazy or simply ignore him. But this man didn’t, he believed him and had faith that he was healed. That’s some amazing faith!

What about you, if Jesus told you to take up your mat and walked what would you have done? What are you going to do the next time Jesus asks you to take up your mat? Are you going to ignore Him and call Him crazy, or are you going to jump?


One thought on “Leap of Faith

Leave a Reply

